Medical School

Department of Medicine


  • MEDDOM2 Igarashi 690x350

    Peter Igarashi, MD, named Head of the Department of Medicine

    Read more

  • MEDDOM2 Landing Miller with 4 others 690x350

    Department of Medicine Chair

    Wes Miller, MD

    Read more about us

  • MEDDOM2 Landing Research Collage 690x350

    DOM Research

    The Department of Medicine is one of the top research departments in the United States and represents the largest research faculty group at the University of Minnesota.

    Learn about our research

  • MEDDOM2 690x350 ChalkBoard and Teacher

    Medical Education

    The Department is an innovative leader in medical education and has developed new, exciting curricula for medical student and resident education.

    Learn more about our programs

Enhancing the health of Minnesota, the nation, and the world through innovation in research, education and patient care.

MEDDOM2 340x190 Research
Featured Faculty

Dr. Gary S. Francis from the Division of Cardiology is a Professor of Medicine at the University of Minnesota. He was recently honored by the American College of Cardiology in 2014 with the Distinguished Teacher Award and by the Heart Failure Society of America with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Read More

MEDDOM2 340x190 New Blue Stethoscope
Current News

Peter Igarashi, MD, named Head of the Department of Medicine
A long-awaited search for the next Head of the Department of Medicine is over, and we are pleased to announce that Peter Igarashi, M.D., will serve as the next Nesbitt Chair and Head of the Department of Medicine, starting on December 31, 2014.

Read More Current News

  • ©2014 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer
  • Last modified on October 21, 2014